Students Council
We are very proud of our Students Council in Gorey Community School. The Student Council helps to promote an environment conducive to educational and personal development. It also enhances communication between students, management, staff and parents. Students are nominated from the class tutor groups and elected by the students in the year group. Three representatives are elected from each year group so that we have eighteen members on the council. Council members meet once a week at lunchtime. They decide what they want to discuss at the meeting. There is a suggestion box at the reception and students can write their suggestions or contact a Students council member if they have a matter they want discussed to improve the students’ life in the school.

The Council members organise such fundraising activities such as Jersey/no uniform days and awareness days to highlight the activities of the council. The council also organise campaigns such as non smoking, healthy lifestyles and anti-bullying. The chairperson and secretary have regular meetings with the principal where they discuss matters of relevance to the students.
Gorey Community School
At the forefront of education in North Wexford since 1993
Gorey Community School
2020-2021 Class Reps:

Congratulations to all of our recently elected class reps. These class reps were voted for by their peers and will be responsible for managing communication between students in their class and the relevant members of the student council.

A number of class reps will be running for seats on the Student Council and will be announcing their candidacy next week (Wednesday Nov 11th) . Watch this space for more details on their campaigns and information on voting for your preferred candidate.

1st year

Ethan Hayden Orr, Alannah Nic Craith, Katie Crosbie, Cian Donnely, Dylan Cooper, Freya Cosgrave, Josh Nolan, Tom Kenny,Sienna Acardi.

2nd year

Harry Smyth, Aaron O’ Connor, Jack Chambers, Dyelan O’Sullivan, Robyn Kinsella, Joe O’Shea, Josh Nolan, Caragh Moore, Mary Tomkins.

3rd year

Liam O’Brien, Sofia Church, Anthony Dwyer, Alex Mackay, Shannon Harkin, Sean Doyle, Conor Kelly, Alex Cousins, Macy Marie Segismar, Conor Horan, Paddy Higgins, Paidi Reeves.

4th year

Sean Og Doyle, Ryan Klatt, Erin McKevitt.

5th year

Sean Kinch, Aaron Roque Fonseca, Paul Murphy, Dervla Noctor, Harry Mc Guckin, Lily King, Diana Williams Oshun, Joe Byrne, Gearoid Roche, Katie Cunningham, Callum Li, Tara Fortune, John Joseph Twamley, Padraig Murt Kinsella.

6th year

Sean Aidan Dunphy, Evan Flynn, Megan Carney, Paul McEvoy.

Click image above to enlarge
Student Council Candidates 2020-2021

This year there are twenty-one candidates running for Student Council. Two representatives will be selected from each year. Over the next two weeks these candidates will be working hard to communicate with their year groups and voting will take place on Friday November 20th. Best of luck to all involved!
1st year: 
Freya Cosgrave 
Katie Crosbie 
Cian Donnelly 
Alannah Nic Craith

2nd year: 
Jack Chambers 
Caragh Moore 
Harry Smyth 
3rd year: 
Shannon Harkin 
Sofia Church 
Liam O’Brien 
Alex Cousins  
Macy Marie Segismar 
Tom Stokes  
4th year: 
Sean Doyle 
Ryan Klatt 
Erin McKevitt 
5th year: 
Sean Kinch 
Paul Murphy  
Padraig Murth Kinsella  
6th year: 
Evan Flynn 
Paul McEvoy 
Ruairi O’Connor  

Student Council 2020

Our newly elected Student Council had its first meeting on Friday December 11th and a number of important issues were discussed. We focused on setting our short and long-term goals for the year, reviewed the Student Council Constitution and elected our Officer of the Board. We also accepted an invitation to attend the upcoming Board of Management meeting and we are looking forward to bringing our ideas to management. Goals discussed focused on the areas of bathrooms, intercoms, uniform, lunchtime arrangements and supporting our LGBTQ+ students. Keep an eye on our blackboard outside the staff room for more information on upcoming events.

If any students wishes to contact the council they can speak with their year’s rep or email the council directly at

Student Council Members:

1st year:

Freya Cosgrave

Cian Donnelly

2nd year:

Joe Galvin

Harry Smyth

3rd year:

Shannon Harkin

Alex Cousins

4th year:

Sean Doyle

Ryan Klatt

5th year:

Paul Murphy

Padraig Murth Kinsella

6th year:

Evan Flynn

Ruairi O’Connor

Officer of the Board:

Chairperson: Ryan Klatt

Deputy Chairperson: Ruairi O’Connor

Second Deputy: Evan Flynn

Secretary: Joe Galvin

Treasurer: Sean Doyle

PR Team: Freya Cosgrave, Shannon Harkin, Paul Murphy