Page 9 - Recommended Reads First Year
P. 9

Goodnight Mr Tom- Michelle Magorian

                                     Goodnight Mister Tom is a children's novel by the English

                                    author Michelle Magorian, published by Kestrel in
                                    1981. Harper & Row published a U.S. edition within the

                                    calendar year. Set in mostly rural England during World War
                                    II, it features a boy abused at home in London who is
                                    evacuated to the country at the outbreak of the war. In the

                                    care of Mister Tom, an elderly recluse, he experiences a new
                                    life of loving and care. Age 13+

               A Series of Unfortunate Events – Lemony Snicket

                                   A Series of Unfortunate Events is a series of 13 children's novels
                                   by  Lemony Snicket (the pen name of American author Daniel
                                   Handler) which follows the turbulent lives of Violet, Klaus,
                                   and Sunny Baudelaire after their parents' death in an
                                   arsonous house fire. The children are placed in the custody of
                                   their distant cousin/uncle Count Olaf, who attempts to steal
                                   their inheritance. After the Baudelaires are removed from his
                                   care by their parents' estate executor, Mr. Poe, Olaf begins

               to doggedly hunt the children down, bringing about the serial slaughter and
               demise of a multitude of characters.

               The series is actively narrated by Snicket, who makes numerous references to
               his mysterious, deceased love interest, Beatrice. Both Snicket and Beatrice play
               roles in the story along with Snicket's family members, all of whom are part of a
               mysterious organisation known as "V.F.D."

               The Series of Unfortunate Events is different from most other children’s
               books in that people die and miserable things are done to the Baudelaires and
               their friends. All the while the author is warning the reader that if you are
               looking for a happy ending, you need to go somewhere else.

   4   5   6   7   8   9   10